The building was designed for 5 apartments on the 2nd floor. The original tenant of the 1st floor retail space was Venice Pharmacy, Inc. By 1928, the Peninsula Telephone Co. operated its switchboard from a rear store front.
The building was constructed in 1927 as a rooming house or inn. It's unique shape & massing have made it a landmark since its construction. During WWII it was home for civilian employees of the Venice Army Air Base & married military personnel.
Constructed in 1926, the building was actually 2 seperate structures joined by a 20 ft arcade. It was then named the Valencia Hotel & Arcade, then the El Vernon Hotel. It has been known as the El Patio Hotel since 1948.
The original Train Depot was built in 1927. It has been restored to its original condition & contains memorabilia from the days when the Kentucky Military Institute cadets used Venice as their winter headquarters.